Vertical Acceleration

Configuration, files, setup.
Hi_Jango
noob
Posts: 3
Joined: 30.11.2004 02:00
Location: 0

Vertical Acceleration

Post by Hi_Jango »

Since i cannot seem to get novert to work, is there any other way to disable vertical mouse acceleration ?  I think i might be slowing down at times while speedrunning because of it :/  Thx.
Opulent
player
Posts: 233
Joined: 05.11.2001 03:12

Re: Vertical Acceleration

Post by Opulent »

I assume you mean in a real-time DOS environment using the real game.
There are other TSRs that can do this, but I cannot think of a reason why novert wouldn't work.
Hi_Jango
noob
Posts: 3
Joined: 30.11.2004 02:00
Location: 0

Re: Vertical Acceleration

Post by Hi_Jango »

My OS is windows 2000, so I cannot load things like Timer.exe, Lmpc, or Novert.  They all close the second I open them.
Grazza
noob
Posts: 50
Joined: 26.04.2003 12:19

Re: Vertical Acceleration

Post by Grazza »

I have XP (which I don't believe is any more DOS-friendly than 2000), and both LMPC and novert work fine for me.

If I want to use novert + Doom2.exe, there are two ways I do it:

1. Open a Command Prompt. Type in NOVERT. Then launch Doom2.exe using the appropriate command line.

or (generally preferable):

2. Create a batch file (using Notepad) with two lines as follows (assuming for the sake of argument that I want to record a UV Pacifist demo on map13 of ksutra):

Code: Select all

novert
doom2 -file ksutra.wad -warp 13 -skill 4 -record kp13-0xx
Save with a filename such as kp13-0xx.bat, and then run this batch file.

The point is that the two things need to be done together. Clicking on novert and then running Doom2.exe won't do the trick, as novert will not still be resident in the memory by that point. Or something like that.
Hi_Jango
noob
Posts: 3
Joined: 30.11.2004 02:00
Location: 0

Re: Vertical Acceleration

Post by Hi_Jango »

Ok, I tried the batch way and it works perfectly.  Thx for the help Grazza.